Mickey Furfari: Fine tribute to Cuyahoga

43rd Parallel

Heisman Winner
Gold Member
May 29, 2001
John Olesky, former sports writer, still follows WVU closely

By Mickey Furfari
MORGANTOWN --
John Olesky grew up in Monongah, West Virginia, and helped me six months while I was a young sports editor for the Dominion News, as a journalism student at West Virginia University.
He’s come a long way since then, Olesky, who turns 83 on Nov. 10 and now lives in Ohio. He actually wrote sports for only about 15 years. But he has loved following college football in particular -- and still does.
His first job after graduating from WVU was as sports editor of the Williamson Daily News after graduating in 1954 from the School of Journalism.
Olesky had graduated from Monongah High in 1950. Unable to be an athlete, he served as team manager for football and earned a letter. George Ross was the Monongah coach then.
After being at the Williamson Daily News for 5 years, Olesky joined the Charleston Daily Mail staff in 1959 and worked there four years.
Then he went to the Dayton, Ohio, Daily News and worked there for 13 years. Then he was hired by the St. Petersburg Times in Florida.
Then the last large newspaper for Olesky was the Akron Beacon Journal in Ohio. John loved it so much there he stayed for a total of 26 years.
That’s when he served as an editor. That long stretch of his career brought Olesky to his retirement in 1996.
In all, he spent 43 years in the newspaper business. Asked whether he enjoyed all of his different jobs, he replied: “I loved all of them. It was great for me to move around.”
While John still resides in Ohio, he remains a Mountaineer fan of every respect. So much so, he hasn’t missed a football home game in the last 200 games.
“It’s been long ago, but I loved my years at WVU, the West Virginia papers I served, and also those in Ohio.”
He’s proud especially of his 43 years in the newspaper business.