ADVERTISEMENT

Obama moving to ban AR bullets through executive action...

rog1187

Heisman Winner
Gold Member
May 29, 2001
Interesting comment from a police officer in the article:

"Criminals aren't going to go out and buy a $1,000 AR pistol," Brent Ball, owner of 417 Guns in Springfield, Mo., and a 17-year veteran police officer told the Springfield News-Leader. "As a police officer I'm not worried about AR pistols because you can see them. It's the small gun in a guy's hand you can't see that kills you."

Washington Examiner

He's not going to ban the 5.56, but the green tip 5.56.

I've never shot green tip before (Our range doesn't allow it for safety reasons) but standard FMJ 5.56 is not going to be effected by this. And this will only last as long as he's President.

Re: He's not going to ban the 5.56, but the green tip 5.56.

From reading through the BATFE document, they are arguing the need from the angle that it threatens police officers...but (and it's a sample of one) it seems like the police officer in the article makes an interesting comment on criminals and the use of ARs versus use of cheap handguns.

Re: He's not going to ban the 5.56, but the green tip 5.56.

Originally posted by Mntneer:
I've never shot green tip before (Our range doesn't allow it for safety reasons) but standard FMJ 5.56 is not going to be effected by this. And this will only last as long as he's President.
There really isn't a huge different between the two ballistics wise. I understand it from a range stand point as the steel tip on the "green tip" ammo can cause more damage to berms and or backstops depending on what type of range you are shooting on. From a practical "in the field" perspective, it's not like the green tip is cop-killer rounds or something. There seems to be common misconception that the green tip is AP and it is not.

Re: In my world, a green tip means you need a battery of antibiotics. **